Here’s Why The Moon Turns Red During A Lunar Eclipse

On Sunday, stargazers in South America and along the eastern coast of North America could be fortunate enough to receive a glimpse of the lunar color palette. But before anyone goes into witnessing this, here’s why the moon turns red during a lunar eclipse.

Here's Why The Moon Turns Red During A Lunar Eclipse 1

The so-called Super Flower Blood Moon lunar eclipse will occur on the 15th and 16th of May 2022, and it is projected to turn the sky crimson.

When a full lunar eclipse happens, the Earth’s satellite turns scarlet, which may have contributed to our forefathers’ idea that it was a harbinger of poor fortune.

This anomaly, though, has a straightforward explanation. Because of the manner light spreads during a full eclipse, the Moon appears red. Blue and green light is dispersed when the Sun’s rays reach our planet, but orange and red light remains visible, which is why the Moon appears scarlet.

Total lunar eclipses are often referred to as “Blood Moons” because of this. At different periods of the eclipse, the Earth’s satellite can take on a variety of colors, ranging from grey to scarlet, amber, and orange.

On Sunday, stargazers in South America and along the eastern coast of North America could be fortunate enough to receive a glimpse of the lunar color palette, with the approaching eclipse expected to be visible.

The eclipse, branded the “Super Flower Blood Moon,” will be observable from much of Africa and Europe, according to Noah Petro, chief of NASA’s Planetary Geology, Geophysics, and Geochemistry Lab.

If you wish to witness the eclipse, it will begin at 10:28 p.m. EDT on Sunday (02:28 GMT on Monday), with a partial eclipse first. The Blood Moon will peak around 12:11 a.m. EDT (04:11 GMT), with the spectacle ending at 1:55 a.m. EDT (05:55 GMT).

GreatGameIndia is being actively targeted by powerful forces who do not wish us to survive. Your contribution, however small help us keep afloat. We accept voluntary payment for the content available for free on this website via UPI, PayPal and Bitcoin.

Support GreatGameIndia

Leave a Reply